The 9th Kalatai Tirpude Memorial Slum Soccer Maharashtra Women’s State Championship 2020 took place on the 29th & 30th of January 2020 at Bokhara Academy in Nagpur. The tournament aimed at  giving girls an opportunity to play, access to the community programs and make them aware of the impact they can bring in their respective communities.

In this two-day football tournament, the players inspired many local girls who were previously unable to put their step forward to be actively involved in sports and other activities.

Nine district teams took part from all over Maharashtra which included Nagpur, Yavatmal, Wardha, Nagpur Rural, Gondia, Ahmadnagar, Amravati, Bhandara, and Mumbai.
Their determination was proven by the fact that 114 goals were scored on the very first day of the tournament and witnessed highly competitive clashes.

The first phase of the tournament was on a league basis. After the league matches 4 outstanding teams from Yawatmal, Nagpur City, Goandia and Amravati, who topped their respective group, qualified for the knockout round of the tournament.

Semi-finals and final matches were scheduled on the 30th of January. Hereon, every match became a knockout match which raised the intensity of the competition a couple of notches higher.

Team Gondia erased unpleasant memories of their disastrous first match to pulled an upset win in the final by defeating Team Mumbai who were unbeaten till the final clash. The final match witnessed adrenaline-pumping moments and ended with a score of 3-1. 

Throughout the tournament, football played a fabulous role and helped them gain knowledge and strengthening their belief.

The closing ceremony was scheduled right after the tournament’s final game in which Ms. Anita Tirpude (President of the Yugantar Education Society , Nagpur ) along with Prof. Vijay Barse (Slum Soccer’s Founder & Secretary) were the guest of honour with other dignitaries. The Guests handed over the trophies to the winning teams and also addressed them with their inspiring words.

The “Fair Play” award was given to Team Pune for playing all games in the spirit of football and displaying integrity.