Our Awards

FIFA Diversity Award

Indian NGO Slum Soccer has won the inaugural FIFA Diversity Award today. The award was created by FIFA to recognise outstanding organisations, group initiatives and football personalities that are standing up for diversity and inspire unity, solidarity and equality among all people. Slum Soccer uses football to connect individuals, teach life skills and work towards improving the living conditions of women and marginalised populations in Indian society. read more


FICCI India Sports Award

Slum Soccer has been awarded the prestigious FICCI India Sports Award for the “Best NGO Promoting Sports” category. This is a big boost for Slum Soccer to get the award, which not only recognises its work as a sports for development organisation but also its efforts to promote football in the country. FICCI, or the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry, is the largest and oldest business organisation in India. It is non-governmental and not-for-profit.


Reliance Real Hero Award

It was indeed a very proud moment for every child, coach and volunteer of Slum Soccer, when our mentor, Dr.Vijay Barse, won the prestigious “Reliance Real hero Award’, in recognition of the stellar role he has played in visualizing, conceptualizing and executing the project Soccer for the Homeless in this country, thus transforming many young lives for the better.

From weekend classes to awareness camps, from football coaching to the homeless world cup, from a football game to football as a way of life, he transformed the face of Soccer for the Homeless, cutting across class and cultural border lines. This man on a mission sure has made it to the portals of Indian sporting history, and justifiably so. He received the award from Sachin Tendulkar, another Indian sports icon, amidst loud cheers from the Mumbai Indians team.


2012 Manthan eNGO Award

Slum Soccer won the prestigious Manthan eNGO Award in COMMUNICATION & OUTREACH category at a ceremony held at Indian Habitat Center, Delhi on 2nd December 2012.